Cine Outsider header
Left bar Home button Disc reviews button Film review button Articles button Blogs button Interviews button Right bar
news archive
Older news stories have been archived by year and month, most recent first. They can be accessed by clicking on the links below.
2024 2023 2022
2021 2020 2019
2018 2017 2016
2015 2014 2013
2012 2011 2010
2009 2008 2007
2006 2005 2004
John Cassavetes' Opening Night on dual format in May

18 April 2013

The latest release in the BFI's John Cassavetes Collection is 1977's award-winning Opening Night. Released on Blu-ray for the first time in the UK, it is presented in a Dual Format Edition (also contains a DVD disc). Numerous extras include an audio commentary, a documentary Memories of John and Peter Falk talking about John Cassavetes.

Broadway actress Myrtle Gordon (Gena Rowlands) rehearses for her latest play about a woman in denial at the onset of her autumn years. When Myrtle witnesses the accidental death of an adoring young fan, it leads to a crisis of confidence in both her professional and her personal life which threatens to undermine the whole production.

Featuring a startling and compelling performance by Gena Rowlands, which won her the Silver Bear for Best Actress in 1978, Opening Night is arguably one of John Cassavetes' most self-reflexive works and offers an insightful and intriguing evocation of the theatrical experience from both sides of the proscenium. The film also stars John Cassavetes and Ben Gazarra.

Opening Night will be released on UK dual format (containing both Blu-ray and DVD) on 27th May 2013 by the BFI at the RRP of £19.99.

Extra features are:

  • Audio commentary by Tom Charity, Mike Ferris and Bo Harwood;

  • Memories of John documentary (DVD only, 29 mins)

  • Falk on Cassavetes: the later years (DVD only, 14 mins)

  • Illustrated booklet featuring interviews and essays from Tom Charity, Al Ruban and Peter Bogdanovich

Below is an extract of Peter Falk talking about Cassavetes and a short clip from the film.


Already  available from   the  BFI in  The John Cassavetes Collection: A Woman Under the
(1974), Faces (1968) and Shadows (1959).

The Killing of a Chinese Bookie (1976) will be released in July.