Cine Outsider header
Left bar Home button Disc reviews button Film review button Articles button Blogs button Interviews button Right bar
news archive
Older news stories have been archived by year and month, most recent first. They can be accessed by clicking on the links below.
2021 2020 2019
2018 2017 2016
2015 2014 2013
2012 2011 2010
2009 2008 2007
2006 2005 2004
D.W. Griffith's Intolerence on Blu-ray in December from Masters of Cinema

30 September 2014

Eureka! Entertainment have announced the release of Intolerance (Love’s struggle throughout the ages), starring Lillian Gish, the icon of silent Hollywood and a cast of thousands. Counted amongst the most influential films of all time by The Library of Congress – National Film Registry, the American Film Institute and Sight & Sound magazine, the film has been digitally restored and features a lush orchestral score by the acclaimed composer Carl Davis conducting the Luxembourg Symphony Orchestra. D.W. Griffith’s cinematic milestone will be released on Blu-ray in December as part of the Masters of Cinema Series.

After shaking the world with his hugely controversial epic The Birth of a Nation, pioneer filmmaker D. W. Griffith spared no expense in putting together his next project, Intolerance (Love’s struggle throughout the ages): a powerful examination of intolerance as it has persisted throughout civilisation, set across four parallel storylines that span 2500 years.

There is the Babylonian story, depicting nothing less than the fall of Babylon; the Judean story, which revolves around the crucifixion of Christ; the French story, which presents the St. Bartholomew's Day Massacre in all its horror; and a modern American story of class struggle, crime, and the plight of life in the early 20th century set within urban slums and the prison system.

Starring such luminaries as Lillian Gish, Constance Talmadge, and Miriam Cooper, who share screentime with an enormous main cast and some 3,000 extras, Griffith's film — the most expensive motion picture ever produced at the time — went on to become a critical success whose influence has only grown in the decades since.

Intolerence will be released as a 2-disc Blu-ray on 8th December 2014 by Eureka! Entertainment as part of the Masters of Cinema series at the RRP of £19.99.

Featuring a new high-definition 1080p presentation of the acclaimed Brownlow and Gill "Thames Silents" restoration of the film and an orchestral score by the esteemed composer Carl Davis, the disc will have the following extras:

  • Two feature-length films by Griffith that act as companion pieces to Intolerance and take their material from the main film: The Fall of Babylon and The Mother and the Law, accompanied by new scores by the Mont Alto Motion Picture Orchestra

  • Three Hours That Shook the World: Observations on 'Intolerance' – a 2013 documentary featuring preservationist Kevin Brownlow discussing the film

  • 56-page booklet filled with vintage and modern reports, reflections, and essays on the film